all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Hello! A few questions about mobility/warm-ups

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Dayz

Level 8 Valued Member
Hi everyone,

I've lurked this sub for a long time, but this is my first post. I have a few questions about mobility and warm-ups, but first some info about me and my training and goals.

I'm 29 years old, 80kg (176lbs), 189cm (6'2). I've been training with kettlebells for approx 6 months.

My goals are:
  • Improve swings from Simple to Solid.
  • Improve TGUs from 5/5 with the 24kg, to 5/5 with the 32kg.
  • Chin-ups from 15 to 20.
  • Run 5k in 19:59 (current PR is about 21:20)
  • Improve mobility and posture!
To achieve my goals, I am doing Simple and Sinister 5x per week, with chin-ups approx 4 nights per week. For my running goals, I have a running program which is designed for the purpose. It's only three runs per week (the conditioning from S&S + three runs has been enough for constant improvement so far).

Now for my questions and the last goal: improved mobility and posture.

So, I have been to a sports physio and had a full check up for my movement. These are the following issues:
  • My thoracic mobility isn't great.
  • My hamstrings are inflexible.
  • I have slight anterior pelvic tilt and slight forward head posture/internally rotated shoulders.
Basically your typical western posture!

What I am hoping to get from this thread are some ideas towards an elegant warm-up and/or mobility routine to do before my S&S sessions. I LOVE the simplicity of S&S. I would love an equally simple/efficient mobility/warm-up routine.

So here are my questions:
  1. What has helped you to improve your posture?
  2. What do you recommend for improving thoracic mobility?
  3. Hamstring flexibility?
  4. APT/Forward head?
My current idea is this:

Warm-up:
  • Foam roller/lacrosse ball - thoracic, lats, lower body.
  • Prying Goblet Squat 3 x 5 (a per S&S)
  • Bretzel
Lift: