all posts post new thread

Barbell Setting Realistic DL goals

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JGP718

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello everyone I am a 28 year old 6ft 190lb male. I have been training with kettle bells for about 4 years off and on. The biggest bell I have is a 24kg and feel comfortable swinging that 10x10. I have also done some athletic performance training last year and did some deadlifting and front squatting with a barbell. This winter I am looking to gain some absolute leg strength as this has shown to directly enhance power production in my sport; golf. I'm looking to set a realistic goal for my offseason for a weight to lift. Is 300lbs achievable by spring? What programs are recommended? I have read power to the people and like the idea of getting stronger without necessarily getting bigger.

Thanks for any advice/help

@JGP718 I would begin with a 45-60 day "Easy Strength" protocol to dial in a baseline and then move on to "Power To The People". You should be able to cover a lot of ground towards your goal by next Spring.

@JGP718, absolutely 300 lbs. is achievable, provided you are basically healthy and move well now - if not, address those things first.

-S-

I don't know where you're at now, but 300 lbs is just over 1.5x bodyweight for you. Very achievable.

@JGP718, you are good to go. I will second @Pavel Macek's suggestion of "Power To The People!" - you will learn a lot about strength, a lot about deadlifting, and you'll have plenty of programming for at least your first year.

-S-

The only question I have is what could I do for the press. I work out at home and have low ceilings in my basement. All I have is a bar and my bells. I would love to do military presses with the bells. If I did a half kneeling press would that be okay? My goal is not necessarily upper body strength