all posts post new thread

Kettlebell What should I be looking at for an untrained 30 yo. woman?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
@Darknessdancer Based on your post, my 1st recommendation is 30 minutes of brisk walking daily.

As a professional coach, my 2nd recommendation is do not take kettlebell training and the many safety protocols therin for granted. Especially with sedentary individuals unfamiliar with training.

Thank you.

I think walking is about the safest, easiest to do, yet very healthy exercise available. Walking and then eventually doing a small about of weights is about enough for anyone really, if we're talking about maintaining health, in my opinion. Walking was my one and only exercise for several years and it did keep me in good condition; of course kettlebells, Naked Warrior etc are "better" and get me in better shape and better health, but the walking was definitely good enough, no, actually more than just good "enough". Walking is very good. My wife walked with me and we still go for walks and walking is still an important part of my health maintenance strategy. She also does yoga, and as of about a month ago she lifts dumbbells (just uses the kettlebell for goblet squats as of yet).

1. Doctor's visit for a thorough physical, making mention of her intention to begin an exercise program and asking if she has any restrictions to abide by.

2. Movement screen - get her an FMS, deal with 0's before any exercise program, and 1's and asymmetries as needed.

3. Kettlebell Simple & Sinister.

-S-

+1 to Steve's input, and I'll add: