all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Fitbit heart rate tracking is dangerously inaccurate, lawsuit claims

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
I use mine just for the steps and sleep track. I've tested the steps before and it's pretty accurate. Hopefully the sleep is too.

I am also an on-call firefighter and one morning we had a call at 5 am. My heart rate went from 40 to 106 immediately. Pretty scary. The lowest I've seen mine is 38 at night.

these kind of lawsuits smell of commercial blackmail...everyone knows the fitbit is not a lab or EKG quality HRM, but it's a general fitness tool. I'm not a fitbit user (Polar & Garmin, with chest straps), but if people like them and it helps them stay fitter, then more power to them. From what I read in the lawsuit, there's nothing even claimed in it that makes them "dangerous"- the plaintiffs are privileged against libel and slander when they say things in legal pleadings, so they can try to get a large settlement from the company to avoid this type of publicity. I'm glad the company didn't cave in.

a friend's daughter, who's been a total couch potato, got one for Christmas and now is fanatic about getting her "steps" in, goes out walking and jogging, etc. and trying to get her heartrate up while she does it. Good gateway to kettlebells, eventually! haha

Back to topic: I also wonder about the accuracy between optical (watch) and electrical (chest strap) readings.

Currently planning to buy a HR watch, but I'm in no hurry.

I just got a Garmin Fenix 3, comes with a chest-strap. The watch is awesome. I highly recommend. A bit more pricey that the fitbit, admittedly