all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Kettlebell alternative to full contact twists?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

skestrel

First Post
Obligatory first-post wave.

I've been doing hardstyle kettelbell work for a few years but have yet to find a decent replacement for full contact twists (I have no access to a barbell right now). Can anyone recommend a kettlebell move that focuses on building rotational strength?

I've been relying on one-handed swings, snatches, presses, and carries, but those seem to build "stability" strength more than "active" strength (I don't know what I'm talking about).

@skestrel
I will also add my welcome.

What are you training for? What are your goals? What is this 'rotational strength' going to provide you?

There is certainly an anti-rotational aspect to one arm swings.

Additionally TGU's provide similar effects.

@skestrel - Welcome to the StrongFirst community!

I did a search on YouTube and found something similar to full contact twists. They are called High Rotations and it starts at 3:45:

Last edited:
I used to do Full Contact twists a lot...but find S&S gives me much better rotational strength and coordination for sports. Consistency over time and always improving form is key. TGU's are very good for this when you come to rely on the torso more than pushing with the heel and pulling with the elbow to start them. Full Contact twists also require strict form to use the torso/hip muscles rather than the arms/shoulders.

Thanks for the kind welcome.

What are you training for? What are your goals? What is this 'rotational strength' going to provide you?

There is certainly an anti-rotational aspect to one arm swings.

Additionally TGU's provide similar effects.

"Anti-rotational" is a much better way to put it than "stability."