all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Pros & Cons of a C&P + 1/2 TGU instead of full TGU

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Scottie888

Level 1 Valued Member
Hey guys, just a brief prefix - I've been training mostly S&S closing in on 2.5yrs starting with a 24kg to a 40kg now so I've some experience in the Dao of KBs ie. truly owning a weight instead of always chasing bigger (&bigger) weights with normal free weights. In light of this Dao, I've encounter numerous WTF/wow moments but more importantly, my general overall physical health has made tremendous improvements esp. in the lower back.

Back to the topic, in the course of KB discovery, I've found that I really really like C&P alot more than a TGU but I also see the benefits of grinding slow thru multiple planes as only a TGU can provide. Sure I can incorporate a C&P into the routine but I love the efficiency of Pavel's S&S & the little time it takes. Besides, I've already incorporated a set/s of 15x pseudo planche pushups, 7-8x chin ups (warm up) & a 4-6x windmills (cooldown) so I really don't want to keep adding more & more to my rountine.

So now besides the requisite 100x swings (alternating 2 & 1 arm), I now do a C&P (with a slight push assist on the bulldog) up & a neg TGU down. Besides lesser time under tension, is there any cons in doing it this way? or should the advise be do it the traditional S&S way? Thanks in advance

You can certainly keep doing what you’re doing.
You might consider S&S twice a week and a press program on other days.

-S-

Well, you are way ahead of me so take my ideas with a grain of salt.

If you like windmills and presses, do you happen to like bent presses, too? If so you might want to contact @Pavel Macek for his Royal Simple and Sinister (RSAS) program (snatch and bent press).

Other than that I would imagine that alternating "S&S by the book" with "Sorta S&S" (maybe C&P ladders + 2H swings) would suit you well.