all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Swinging Above 32kg and Over 50

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Oso Rojo

Level 5 Valued Member
I'm 57 and I'm making the transition from 32kg to 36kg. Today it was 40@32 and 60@36.

I'm curious of anyone else is in this age range and driving heavier on the swing?

I'm currently squatting and dead lifting a linear progression starting very light and working 5lbs a session and lifting 3 times a week. This is to rehab from my MCL tear in the right knee. In addition to these two movements I'm alternating swinging and cleans each session. I've never done cleans before so I figured it was a good time to try mixing them into my program. (Plus my trainer wants to see me do them since she taught me, hahaha.)

After a couple of weeks of this I'm noticing my swing strength is actually improving on the once and twice a week schedule. This implies to me the extra days of recovery are needed.

I'm curious how are others scheduling their swing progress as they move above 32kg. Are you everyday, three or four days a week, even less?

Thanks!

In addition to these two movements I'm alternating swinging and cleans each session
So you are only having two ballistic sessions per week, one of them being swings? Or asked another way: what is your weekly template?

Interesting report :)

Week One
Day 1 Squat, Dead, Swing
Day 2 Squat, Dead, Clean
Day 3 Squat, Dead, Swing

Week Two
Day 1 Squat, Dead, Clean
Day 2 Squat, Dead, Swing
Day 3 Squat, Dead, Clean

I'm 56 and currently swinging a 32; TGUs with 28, starting to integrate a 32.

A few months ago I was doing S&S with a 28, 5-6 days a week and started picking up niggles in my traps, wrists and back.

I've backed off to 2 to 3 times a week and the niggles have slowly receded.
I've also progressed to a 32 as stated above.
I know the book says aim for S&S daily, but this seems to work better for me.