all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Arm bend when standing TGU

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Alessandro Pavoni

Level 2 Valued Member
Hi there,
I have a question
I have been doing S&S for several months
I can swing well 32 kg
My problem is with the TGU I can lift the 24kg but not 32kg; I have issues with my upper back, is fuse togheter due to a cancer on the bone I had when I was younger, so I really bend my arm over my head when I stand up with the lounge, doing so I can’t handle the waight properly and I give up every time , it seems impossible for me to do the lounge
Would it be ok if I lift the 32kg only untill kneeling?
Is there any way to improve my posture straightening my arm ? (I have been doing arm bars but not improving yet)
should I work more on the lounge to get more legs power?
Please let me know your thoughts
Thanks
Alessandro

Hi there,
I have a question
I can swing well 32 kg
My problem is with the TGU I can lift the 24kg but not 32kg; I have issues with my upper back, is fuse togheter due to a cancer on the bone I had when I was younger, so I really bend my arm over my head when I stand up with the lounge, doing so I can’t handle the waight properly and I give up every time , it seems impossible for me to do the lounge
Is there any way to improve my posture straightening my arm ? (I have been doing arm bars but not improving yet)
Thanks
Alessandro

Why don't you get a sandbag and do your getups with that? You can go heavy safely and get most of the benefit. I do them often to mix things up and give my elbows and wrist a break. Throw in some 24kg getups occasionally to still get the shoulder benefits.

You can always go slower too and change it up a little bit. Or do more in a row for a different type of workout. I have yet to do it but I have a 20lb kettlebell I’ve wanted to try a bottoms up TGU with just to see how far I can even get (not suggesting that with the 24kg).