all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Kettlebells for Beginners?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Hector G

Level 4 Valued Member
Senior Certified Instructor
Elite Certified Instructor
My brothers and sisters in iron.

A recent question was posed in the StrongFirst community group and is the inspiration for this post.

So I thought I'd share the gist of it here and my thoughts on it.

Q: Can anyone recommend a programme for complete beginners (me) to KB? I have watched videos by Pavel, RKC, Strongfirst and Mark Wildeman. I don’t want to bombard myself with lots of different, varying and contradictory approaches to training hence keeping the sources small.

The gentleman went on to share his current practice of swings, presses, cleans, and squats. At the end he disclosed this,

" Bearing in mind not to train to failure, can I increase the amount of sets I do? I have started with a 16kg KB and would not be capable to do a full TGU. My goal is cross training with martial arts being the focus."

There were many great responses.

Here were my thoughts:

"Great questions and answers here.

Since you can't complete full getup with 16kg...

I think there’s something going on a little deeper.

Is it a strength issue?
Lack of stability/control?
Poor flexibility and mobility?

I’d start with body weight first (I know, not sexy).

Here’s the hard truth...

... your body should dictate what the kettlebell does - not the other way around.

If you want to keep things “simple”...

... practice the getup *without a weight*.

Aim to get in the exact postures... without the bell.

I also recommend practice different variations of getting up off the floor for 10 minutes.
Progress to doing it without your hands.

After a few weeks... test your 16kg getup again... I think you’ll be amazed at what you find
?

While you’re doing that... you can practice your swings.