all posts post new thread

Barbell Stiff legged deadlift form critique

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Welcome to the forum!
I’m not an expert or trainer or anything and I’m new to the forum but your back is def rounded a lot. I’ve always had issues w a rounded upper back but it’s getting better as I work on my KB swings. Haven’t deadlifted in a long time. The trap bar helped me with that though so I could pull weight and not have poor form. I’ve hurt myself many times DLing with a rounded back like that. Be careful.
You’ll get better advice on here than I can give though.
Also. I hate to sound obtuse but should your legs Be a little... stiffer? Less bent?

Just looking for opinions on how Im executing the movement.

Anything good, bad or indifferent?

Hips not back far enough, back waaaaaaay too rounded.

Is there a reason why you're doing them from the floor instead of from the hang / rack?

Typical programming is to use them similar to RDLs, from the top down.

Some people do them from the floor, but you need to have excellent hamstring mobility to do that without back rounding.

If you don't have the hamstring flexibility to do them from the floor without rounding your back, you should probably do them from the hang with a flat back, going no further down than you can go until your back starts to round.

i always thought back rounding was sought when doing stiff legged deadlifts, purposefully putting the back in an incorrect position to build the erectors, im basing my form off this video

i always thought back rounding was sought when doing stiff legged deadlifts, purposefully putting the back in an incorrect position to build the erectors, im basing my form off this video

If you want to pull like strongmen do, you're right -- their style allows for it. But they also have higher deadlift injury rates.

Powerlifting (most, but not all), Olympic weightlifting, and general fitness, it's usually frowned upon.