all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Quick and the Dead programming for me and couple questions....

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Buckfan74

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi Guys and Gals. First let me say thanks for all ya all do. My background is I am a FF and have have spent most the last five years doing S+S and have enjoyed it. But my 47 year old bones and joint are telling me to move on to something else for awhile. So Q+D is going to be it.

I have been able to complete the Timed simple standard.
I can do timeless with the 40kg
i can 2H swing the Beast with decent form.

I think these clearly self qualify me to move onto Q+D

So today I sat out to figure out what weights I should be using for swings and snatches along with PUs. Testing was as follows....
LH 28kg. Slowed somewhat at :21 with 14 reps.
RH 28kg, Slowed at :25 with 15 reps
PU Body Weight :21 slowed 25 reps
2H 32KG Slowed at :21 15 reps
SN L 24KG Slowed at :23 11 reps
SN R 24KG Slowed at :23 11 reps

Here are the questions....

I stopped these test when I felt myself slowing, Is that the correct way?

For those who have went down this road, do these seem like about right weights to start program with? Planning to use these for next 6-10 weeks because I have several weeks I will be in mountains.

I am assuming these would be the best Weights to use according to testing. Or are we to use something slightly bigger than the testing weight? was kinda confused by this in the book.

Outside of the Q+D workouts the only other thing I am going to do is some rucking and hill work. Prolly a few pull ups on Q+D days. Nothing major though.

Thanks for any input or advise from any you guys who have experience with Q+D.

Scott.

Last edited:
Recently finished going down this road, enjoyed the journey, and gained from it