all posts post new thread

Kettlebell 50+ and Simple

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

ricochet

Level 4 Valued Member
For those of you 50 and over that have achieved Timeless Simple...

Were you training regularly prior to starting S&S?

Did you follow the program as written?

Did the program provide the desired outcome?

Would you have done anything differently?

What were your results?

Yes, years of barbell work, rowing, some calisthenics, pilates and yoga.

Up to a point. I have bells in 4 kg increments, so I could use the alternative progression in the book.

After I got 1H 24kg, I started playing with double KB swings. Once I got to timeless Simple, I switched over to mostly double KB work.

After I reached 32 kg TGU, I switched to lighter TGUs because I prefer to use other KB moves (e.g. double KB C&P, double KB front squats) as a core strength builder for heavy work from a risk/reward POV.

I also get a lot of value out of windmills, which aren't in the program.

Yes -- my desired outcome was to learn KB basics.

3x-4x a week was enough to keep me interested and motivated and fresh. Doing it nearly daily, like the book suggests, felt monotonous.

What were your results?

Came to appreciate the value of non-barbell weighted ballistics and the ergonomics of KB overhead work.

Went on to ROP, DFW, @Geoff Neupert 's programs (e.g. Giant), and writing my own KB programming for my goals (off season work for weightlifting GPP).

I didn't follow the program as written. I find that two days in a row of swings kills my hands so I trained the two movements separately. As well, I did a day of A&A training once/twice a week with a heavier bell. I would do swings 3/4 days a week with one/two days being 20-30 rounds with a 36 or 40kg bell, all rounds being 5 reps. The 32 would feel quite light after a month or so of that.