all posts post new thread

Kettlebell What kind of kettlebell warm up do yo do?

Whether I'm training in the gym with a barbell or with a KB at home, my warm-ups are pretty much the same. Rotation of the arms in the shoulder joints forward - 30 times and backward - 30 times. rotation of the hands in the elbow joints forward-30 times and backward-30 times. rotating the knees and ankles 10 times in each direction. Spin the waist 10 times in each direction. With that I finish and start loading the barbell. And if it's KB /trainings there are counted on fingers/, I do a few movements and start the training. I've been warming up like this for over 6 years. Sometimes I hardly warm up. For example, if I'm going to squat, I start with an empty bar for 10-12 reps, then 40 kg. for example, for 5 repetitions and I'm already starting to load through 10 kg. I really don't know if 2-3 minutes of warm-up are included.

Deadlift to stretch my hamstrings. Sometimes one-handed.
Further - just S&S warmup: prying squats, halo's, hip bridges, 3 rounfs. Second and third goblet squat with a heavier weight.
Sometimes, 2 more sets of squat for 10 and 15 reps with the heaviest weight, and 2 sets of naked turkish getups.

I call it "joint stuff" -

Pretty much all are done for 10 in each direction, or just 10 for something like seal swings or over and back.

Wrist circles
Elbow circles
Shoulder circles
Seal Swings
Over and Back
Edited to add: bow and bend
Trunk Rotations
Hip Circles
Knee Circles
Foot Circles
Head Circles
Then something I don't know what to call, but it stretches one legs calf and the other legs front

Last edited:
2 minutes on either the fan bike or Bike Erg to get the juices flowing
10 band dislocates/around the worlds
10 band presses
10 really light double snatches