all posts post new thread

Kettlebell which is more effective for deadlifts: kettlebell or barbell

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

jeffandseneca

First Post
Hi
I am a newbie but trying to figure out which is more effective. If I can substitute the barbell for kettlebells to do the deadlift, even better--since it seems cheaper priced.
If I am using the kettlebell deadlift, what is the specific name of the kettlebell deadlift exercise that covers the benefits of a barbell deadlift? i see so many different kinds of deadlifts so it seems confusing. Or the barbell deadlifts are more effective since you can carry more weight

Buy and read, "Power To The People!" for the barbell deadlift - all the technique advice and all the programming you need to get started.

-S-

I forgot which but Gray Cook and Brett Jones covered that topic in one of FMS DVDs they did together.

Hello,

@jeffandseneca
Welcome to Strongfirst !

There is not necessarily a more or less effective. They are two different tools. What are you looking for ?

A kb DL will be lighter than a bb DL. However, lots of folks, including myself have a good result for the bb DL doing mostly / only heavy kb swings.

Kind regards,

Pet'

It's a barbell exercise, so barbell is the answer. I've read that deadlifters have found that 2h kettlebell swings have helped them deadlift heavier weights, but it's in addition to barbell training not instead of it.

No, as mentioned above.
Barbell deadlifts will allow you to use the maximum weight you can handle.
The kettle bell can though be a good assistance movement to help your deadlift.
Powerlifters use the cable pull through as an assistance movement to get the posterior chain(glutes,hamstrings,low back)stronger.The kettle bell swing is basically a dynamic version of the pull through and can benefit your DL.