all posts post new thread

2020 will be Simple (maybe a little Sinister?)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Patrick Jackson

Level 5 Valued Member
Starting the journey to Simple & hopefully beyond in 2020.
I'm 40 y/o 170 lbs and moderately athletic. In a previous career I was a firefighter and practiced strength training (mostly 5x5 barbell workouts). Currently a software engineer and out of the strength practice for quite some time. During the past month I have completed a 30 "HASFit Strength" program (dumbbells). Now I am looking to reap benefits of Simple and Sinister.

Concerns: Shoulder - left shoulder pain when doing high volume under other programs, so will see how it holds up.

Previous Kettlebell experience: Tried various kettlebell workout videos in past, but lack of structure & consistency

Started practice today following Simple and Sinister 2nd edition. My plan is to follow the book closely doing workouts 6 days/week. This will be my only workout - no supplemental except maybe a couple jogs a month.
I've done a few practice workouts with mostly 16kg and a few 24kg over last couple weeks.

Warmup 3 sets (16kg):
Prying Goblet squats x 5
Halos x 10
Bridge x 5 (no bell)

Practice:
24kg 10/10 swings
24kg 5/1 getups

Able to complete in about 30 mins. Weight felt about right - I don't feel fatigue or like I was really pushing limits. Getups were more challenging than the swings.
Didn't get really winded or sweaty. We'll see how I feel the next few days.
Left should (my bad shoulder) feels ok, but felt slight popping and worried it may get inflamed.

Day 3

I feel like today was a test on if I can start with 24kg for swings & getups. I was a little sore last night & this morning.
After todays workout I feel great. Swings were powerful and form was good. Still feels like 'medium' effort, so I think these are the right bells.

Workouts are taking about 40 mins to complete with warmup and stretches after.