all posts post new thread

Kettlebell 24k swing, c&p, and snatch technique critique

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Matt Piercy

Level 3 Valued Member
Sorry the top of the KB is cut off. I can do it again if you need me to. I can already see I need more work on my insertion and I'm letting the KB slam into me

Hey, Matt. Love the dog. I think he wants to kettlebell :)

Looks basically good, esp the press and snatch. I'd say your biggest improvements could be in the hinge for all movements, and a better packed shoulder for the swing.

What say others?

I'm no expert but maybe hinging just a little early on the swing?

Also you look like you clean pretty high on your body - I think Pavel says imagine trying to clean to your waist - you'll control the arc of the bell better and the rack position will feel more effortless.

You look like you have plenty of arm strength - the hand to hand change on the swings looked very smooth and you make the press look very easy.

Swing: Square your shoulders at the top. Reach the other hand out and touch the kettlebell if you need help figuring out what square is. This one's a little tough to figure out but try to use your lats more to try to stay connected to the bell at the top of the swing.

Clean: Clean on right looks better than clean on left. Too much hip snap on left side - bell gets too high.

Press: Weight is light for you. Your rack position looks _comfortable_ but that's not our goal for the rack for a press. You want a more vertical forearm and to need to use some tension to maintain that position. Pull your elbow down to your hip without rounding your spine or compromising your shoulder, and press from there.