all posts post new thread

Kettlebell 24kg Kettlebell Snatch - Video for critique

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
There’s nowt to shame. Your stance seems wide but it could be camera angle. It’s fast and a tad loose but these are all things that will develop over a few hundred thousand reps. I’ve watched it a few times and each time I like your form better. With the snatch and I’m guilty of this myself, it’s important to maximise that contact of the forearm and abdomen on the upward to the last possible moment. The difference in the snatch is palpable when you do this. So give that a whirl. You arc is good up and down. I’m no expert at the end of the day. 20 years later I’m still refining technique.

Adachi, no shaming at all! After watching the video, the path of the bell is looking pretty good, but you are working way too hard. I would suggest two things to make it more powerful and easier at the same time. First is to get a better hinge. It looks as though you are squatting instead of hinging and losing a lot of power. Focus on pushing your hips back, as if you were reaching for a wall that is too far behind you.. instead of sitting more down like you are now. Your should feel it more in your hamstrings rather than your quads. The second change I would make is having a deeper hike. There is no rush to get the bell back to the top. Think of a rubber band... the further you hike the bell behind you the more the band is stretched, which in turn will throw the bell back to the top with a smaller amount of effort. Even feel like you are pausing at the bottom with the band fully stretched to the limit. If you do, the time spent on the deeper hike and keeping the over all motion smooth will result in a faster over all snatch time.... and you'll burn 1/2 the energy doing it.

Nice and snappy! I like that creative movement of the free arm... Like a conductor. :)