all posts post new thread

Bodyweight 32 Stone

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Leighton

First Post
Hi guys, forgive me if this is the wrong place to ask - but I’m after some initial guidance.
As the title says, I’m 32 stone in weight and I stand 5ft 11” tall.
I’m interested in beginning strength training, I find myself incredibly inspired and motivated by WSM Eddie Hall.
My issue is, how to start? Should I cut my weight? Is my weight an advantage since “weight moves weight” as they say?
Should I do cardio or focus primarily on weights? Which weights should I use?
As you can tell I’m a complete beginner.

I would ask your doctor before starting any exercise programs. Even daily walking. Not just saying this. Really, ask your doctor.

Your doctor will know which questions to ask and be able to answer your questions about exercise, because they know your medical history.

Great to hear that you're that inspired and motivated!

If Eddie Hall is your inspiration, I would steer you towards basic barbell training. If possible, get some in-person coaching from someone who knows what he's doing. Maybe join a local lifting club or such. The internet is full of great programs, but nothing beats getting real advice in person.

Am I correct that 32 stone is 200kg? That's a lot of weight. If so, you're definitely better off losing some weight. But I'm sure just getting more physically active, like with the training you're interested in, will be a great step in the right direction.

Welcome Leighton :)
Setting goals helps, and allows you to begin training towards them (as opposed to 'working out').
Strength goals are recommended because strength will have benefits you will feel before cardio related improvements. Strength will allow you to feel prouder of gains/improvements much sooner.
Which weights? Ones that make your body respond. Ones you automatically brace/tense to control (but remain within your control.