all posts post new thread

Kettlebell 32kg press critiques

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

rickyw

Level 7 Valued Member
All,

I am doing the Soju and Tuba press program. I am on day 8. Below are videos of me on my last set of the session pressing the 32kg for two reps. Would you be able to offer any critiques in regards to my press? Also, my clean too if you see anything. Thanks!

I'm no expert, but your right looked pretty good to me. On your left, though, it seemed like you had a shade too much back bend. Could have been the camera angle, and I could be wrong.
Just remember... Minimal back bend, always.

I have been pretty mindful of avoiding lumbar extension, but I'll have to re film the left...I think the oblique angle is misleading but best to be sure.

@rickyw Nice grind!

2 tips:

A) After your clean, pick a side and move that foot in a step to narrow your stance. This will allow for a stronger glute / dear Abbie's contraction and minimize the back bend.

B) Make a tight fist with the non pressing hand. Will send a signal to the pressing side and enhance your pressing strength.

@rickyw
I'll piggback on both the comments made above.

It does look like you are laying back a lot on the left. It's not just a matter of avoiding lumbar extension. It's more that it doesn't look like you are catching the bell in the rack in a planked up/zipped up/spring loaded position, so you don't have a strong base to press from.

The right side looks much more solid.

Moving your stance in from the clean can help you wedge under the weight more strongly. Get the working side hip under the bell so your have more of a straight line of support under the weight (bell-elbow-hip-foot). Move your non-working side foot, so your working side foot can stay rooted under the weight. You can even move the non-working foot during the float of the clean so you are receiving the bell already in your pressing stance.