all posts post new thread

Kettlebell A+A versus Metcons

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Eric

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello,

I've been doing S&S now for a couple months or so. I plan to get a heart rate monitor to try and stay in the MAF zone while doing the swings. (i.e. stay in the Alactic + Aerobic zones and out of the Anaerobic one)

One thing I seem to notice is weight loss is not great on S&S and that's one of my goals. So I added in High Intensity Interval Training on a bike one day a week in place of S&S. Interval training on a cardio machine lives up to the hype in my experience - it decreases body weight (hopefully most of it from fat)

So a couple things occurred to me:

One, maybe I've been foolish to use the bike for HIIT. I suspect the kettlebell is one of the finest metabolic conditioning tools available.

And two, if fat loss is the primary goal, would it make sense to do kettlebell metcons (e.g. Pat Flynn's stuff) two to three times a week until the fat loss goals are met and THEN move to A+A training in S&S where the primary goal is obviously strength. (It's in the title of the company :)

Or maybe do one metcon a week while on S&S. It could even be done with the S&S protocol by super-setting the swings with the get-ups and trying to move through the full workout as quickly as possibly while maintaining safety. I think it would be best to do this on the final workout of the week. I suspect few people do S&S 7 days a week.

Any thoughts?

Best Regards,
-Eric

do one metcon a week while on S&S. It could even be done with the S&S protocol by super-setting the swings with the get-ups and trying to move through the full workout as quickly as possibly while maintaining safety. I think it would be best to do this on the final workout of the week.

That would be my suggestion. Once a week, or once every 2 weeks.

Some S&S options: