all posts post new thread

Kettlebell A great way to add in chinups to my S&S practice without detracting from anything else

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Smitty_604

Level 2 Valued Member
I've recently simplified my lifting endeavors and begun to focus solely on S&S. I achieved the simple standard with the 32 KG but want to be able to do it easily before moving on to a heavier bell.

Another huge goal of mine has always been to improve my chinups. I used to have a rep goal of 30 or 35 and try to accomplish that goal in as few sets as possible (which meant the last couple sets were real grinders and I wasn't really leaving anything in the tank). This would take a few days to recover from and usually taxed me for the rest of my workout as I'm not very good at bodyweight exercises. Also, I worked at chinups in this way for several months and did NOT feel like I was getting any better at them. Every set felt HARD.

Recently, I was considering how to apply the principal often discussed here of never going to failure and reducing the volume of one individual session in order to perform that several times a week (rather than doing 1 or 2 higher volume sessions per week which take a while to recover from). What I discovered was that reducing the rep goal to 20, using sets of 5, and doing it every time I warm up has worked better than what I used to do.

Initially I started doing chinups as their own exercise after the S&S warmup before swings. After experimenting with adding them in as their own dedicated exercise before swings, after swings, etc.