all posts post new thread

Kettlebell A Review of Our October 2-4, 2015, Denver, CO, SFG Level I Certification

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Steve Freides

Staff
Senior Certified Instructor Emeritus
Elite Certified Instructor
Reposted here with the permission of the author, @Shawn Powell, SFG

I had the honor and privilege of attending the SFG Level 1 Certification in Denver this past weekend [October 2-4, 2015]. I've been swinging a kettlebell for almost ten years now, but had never taken a formal class until I took an SFG User Course and workshop in Chicago, hosted by the lovely and legendary Betsy Collie and Daniel Lona. In that time, I've done countless swings and get-ups. I also had not done NEARLY enough front squats, presses, and snatches. Even so - I'm not gonna' lie - I thought I knew my s@#%. I thought I had a leg up on everyone.

Then two things happened. First, I strained something in my neck and shoulder area about 14 days out from the certification. For three days, I couldn't look up, down, left or right. The second thing that happened? I flew to Denver and ate three straight days of delicious Humble Pie. Turns out, all I had was a halfway decent head start. You're gonna' eat it and you're gonna' like it.

The StrongFirst organization doesn't play around. This is not a pay-your-money-show-up-and-get-your-paper kind of certification. This is learning. This is team work. This is physical education at it's finest. This is your "money's worth." This is damn-near a lesson in anatomy courtesy of Joe Sansalone. And finally, this is WAR in the form of a 100 reps in five minutes. I quickly learned that as experienced as I thought I was, the reason that I was walking into the certification injured, was most likely because I was doing something slightly wrong. And doing it slightly wrong for a long time.