all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Aeropress

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Abdul-Rasheed

Level 6 Valued Member
Interesting. I am new to this make your own coffee business; started pressing my own coffee lately. I am buying light, medium roasted beans and grind them at wholefoods or wegmans. I hadn't tried darker roasts yet. I shall soon.

I have an aeropress. What granularity of grind should I be doing?

Last edited:
My personal preference is for a "cafe lungo," which is an espresso (from an espresso machine, of course) but with roughly twice the amount of water put through it. This yields something between an American coffee and an Italian espresso.

-S-

Interesting. I am new to this make your own coffee business; started pressing my own coffee lately. I buying light, medium roasted beans and grind them at wholefoods or wegmans. I hadn't tried darker roasts yet. I shall soon.

I have an aeropress. What granularity of grind should I be doing?
Espresso grind for Aeropress

Anyone go from French press to aeropress?

I've been using my French press for a while and the top just broke (but still functional), wondering if it's worth just buying another one or switching.

@MattM I have a few French Presses that I used, but they do not compare to the Aeropress for convenience and coffee quality. The Aeopress uses very inexpensive paper filters, or a steel mesh filter I have not tried. I always disliked the sediment you get from the French press, and the cleanup afterwards.

Anyone go from French press to aeropress?

I've been using my French press for a while and the top just broke (but still functional), wondering if it's worth just buying another one or switching.
I was a diehard French press and pour over guy... that is until @Geoff Chafe convinced me to go to the aeropress. I have not regretted it one bit. An aeropress is only $29.00 USD but if your French Press is still functional....