all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Al Kavadlo- Get strong

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Good for a beginner. I like Al Kavadlos stuff, but like most calisthenics books out there they show you all the exercises and progressions, but give little or no info on programming and if you couldn't at least perform 5 pullups and 20 pushups you feel kind of lost.
This gives you a programm with exact numbers for sets, reps and seconds (for the holds). Absolutely no guess work, just follow the path that's laid out in the book.
It also starts for total beginners (no pullup, hand elevated pushup, assisted squat) and progresses from there. It has several stages so if you are no total beginner you start at a different stage.
In the last stage you do things like archer pullups, archer pushups, toes-to-bars, pistols and stuff like that. If you're beyond that you'll probably have enough experience and ability and don't need the book.
IMO it's the much better version of Convict Conditioning.

Get Pushing the Limits, Raising the Bar and this book and you'll be covered for calisthenics. No need for any other material IMO (unless you want to go into real gymnastics with Iron Crosses and stuff like that).

My 2 cents: Progression Based vs. Principle Based Bodyweight Systems

You can find plenty of progressions in many books or videos. But our StrongFirst SFB Bodyweight is very different. SFB teaches you the principles behind, in Pavel's classical magic "do this, this, and this and... " - be amazed.

After SFB, many books can be useful - but not necessary. Without SFB... that is the question.

I still think The Naked Warrior & Hardstyle Abs are the best bodyweight strength training out there, and I am still amazed by the secrets (yes, secrets!) taught at our SFB Courses and Certs.

Got the eBook. Will echo @Kettlebelephant . He virtually read my mind with that post. Just wanted to second him.