all posts post new thread

Barbell Avoid overhead presses?? says RDLFitness

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Demosthenes

Level 1 Valued Member
Too dangerous? Can you experts out there please comment. Would floor (bench) press and pull ups work all the same muscles well or nearly as well?? Thanks, D

@Demosthenes

As for the press, my suggestion/progression is simple:

Phase A
- get "overhead ready" (FMS)
- do your get-ups

Phase B
- learn how to press correctly
- practice

Phase C
- press
- don't neglect your pullups
- get stronger

Phase D
- enjoy being strong
- tell the "experts" hello

I'm no expert but pressing overhead makes me happy.

Get-ups completely fixed a minor shoulder problem I had.

That RDL fitness site recommends avoiding quite a long list of things, including floor presses (although he approves of the bench press) and kettlebells.

Pavel M speaks sense.

I don't know about that article but I have it on expert authority that you should never perform any of these movements as they are proven unsafe by experts: deadlift, squat, overhead press, swing, getup, farmers carry or running. And all the martial arts are crap. All of them.

Here's the best answer I've found on overhead pressing. The answer is "it depends", and it depends on two things A) genetics, how narrow is the gap in whatever those bones are in your shoulder B) shoulder mobility. Does the shoulder even have the capability to move correctly. Mobility can be fixed, but genetics cant.

I think the best thing someone can do for their overhead pressing is mobility via get ups and joint rotations. BTW bench pressing has also doomed many shoulders too.Also, if your OHP'ing or benching you better be doing some type of row too

Here's a nice video on barbell press instruction and why presses don't impinge the soft tissues of your shoulder:

Reactions: krg