all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Balance Board / Wobble Board

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Waffles03

Level 4 Valued Member
There's a YouTube video where Pavel Tsatsouline talks about the importance of doing single leg stiff deadlift and how it teaches you to be rooted. I'm curious to know if you can get the same benefits and learning how to be rooted with a balance board or wobble board will help you more? Thank you.

I would say not. As a disclaimer I'm no expert in this area, but this is the way I understand it:

Our balance comes from 3 things: 1) our vision, 2) our vestibular system (inner ear), and 3) proprioceptive nerve endings in our feet (if we're on our feet).

Being rooted means you're using your feet, not just standing on them -- as many muscles as possible, and being as connected as possible to the floor or surface you're standing on. In this way the nerve endings productively contribute to your movement and balance.

In contrast, if you're on a balance board, wobble board, or bosu ball, you're not getting the same information from those nerve endings; the pressure isn't changing just with your movement, it now has other factors involved. You're challenging your balance, but you have to rely more on your vision and inner ear and you're not directly improving your ability to balance by using your proprioception.

Furthermore, with being rooted, we're trying to use our connection to the ground to improve our strength. Stability is a big part of that. If you remove stability, you're not going to be strong in whatever movement you're trying to do.