all posts post new thread

Barbell Barbell Program For Strength with Hypertrophy

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

jca17

Level 5 Valued Member
Hey all!
My Barbell History:
The start of this year I started training with a barbell. I did 3 months of PTTP by the book followed by 3 months of Pavel's version of the Faleev 5x5, using Zercher squat instead of backsquat. Then I attended a SFB course and did 6 weeks of 5/3/1 (from the latest edition of original book, did not know about his changes with the Beyond book). Since Late July I went back to S&S while prepping for some OCRs with friends. We'll be doing a few more before mid November, during which time I'll stay on S&S.
I'm 6'0", 158lbs, 28 year old male.

Current lifts:
Come mid November I'd really like to go back to barbell training. I feel like I still have a lot of beginner gains to seize on.
DL: I have a 275lb deadlift "sort-of-max" from the barbell course in June,
BP: I've hit 130lb for 2 or 3 reps on bench press (so not even close to body weight yet)
SQ: 5x6 at 115lb zercher squat: very upright, rock-bottom style with bar against torso for whole rep
though I learned back squat technique at the course, I haven't had access to a squat rack and don't know where I'd be in that lift. I think that will change by the time I start with barbell again (access to squat rack).
MP: 5 rep max at 85lb

I'm willing to put a lot of effort into the program (not looking for an "easy strength", low hypertrophy program), and would be glad to get my bodyweight to the 163-165lb range (honestly higher would be great too, but I'm looking for realistic hypertrophy as desirable side affect of strength training rather than the main goal). Would like to get to 335 on DL, 165 BP, progress MP (115lb?) and SQ, though for Zercher I'm not sure what a good beginner target is.