all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Beginner- 2-35lb KK Comp Bells: To buy or not to buy?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

snoddin

First Post
Hello All,

I am brand new to kettlebell training. For context, I’m a 30 year old male with an athletic background and past experience with general workout routines but not for quite a few years. I have a copy of S&S on the way to begin! I have a local option to buy 2 brand new KK Comp bells for $150 total on Craigslist. I’m the analysis paralysis type so I’ve dug deep into the differences between comp and hardstyle bells and what training programs work best with each but I still don’t have a clear answer and I know some of it comes down to preference and hand size.

If anyone could provide a bit more clarity for me as well as tell me if this is a no-brainer purchase as opposed to buying 2 brand new cast iron SF bells online, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance. Apologies if I’m not posting this in the proper place as I’m new to forums in general.

Attachments

• 3A8D4B92-DAF4-4C2E-B8A9-B46684850DA8.jpeg
    3A8D4B92-DAF4-4C2E-B8A9-B46684850DA8.jpeg
    41.8 KB · Views: 18
I'd jump on that as a beginner, and honestly it'd be more attractive if I were a female. But $2/lb is a little steep.

Just understand that they won't get nearly as much love after about 12-18 months.

They might be great for high volume clean and jerk.

They might be great for speed loads at some point.

But until then they are a very well regarded brand and at the bottom of the list of grown men weights.

Full disclosure, I have a set of single bells 16kg-48kg in 8kg jumps. I haven't touched my 16kg bell for many months almost years now. Especially since achieving simple. Mostly I snatch my 24, I press my 32, jerk the 40kg and swing . There's a little overlap in there, but that's the way I've been using them for the better part of a year.