all posts post new thread

Barbell Bench Program? Smolov Jr?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JeffC

Level 7 Valued Member
I am between programs at the moment and considering a cycle or two of Smolov Jr for Bench Press. I plan to go back to PTTP soon, but I am looking for something Bench specific. I have never done that before.

Smolov Jr. Program - Smolov Squat Program

Anyone try Smolov Jr or know of any Bench programs? I am looking for something simple I can just do and not think about too much.

I did Smolov for bench a few years ago. The smolov junior cycle brought my bench press from 225 to 255 which is an impressive leap. I then injured myself (some kind of pec strain) a couple weeks into the rest of the cycle. Honestly, it was a poor choice for me given my level of experience. You are constantly lifting heavy weights even when you are very sore and that’s what likely caused the injury for me (volume of load > my capacity at the time). You have a lot of experience @Geoff Chafe so if you choose to do this, just be mindful of potentially needing to give your body a few more rest days. It’s a very aggressive program even if you just do the junior portion.

I just did a modified version of Strossen's Super Squats to include the same format for bench press. 3 days per week, 1 giant set of 20, one rep every ~10sec, rest holding the weight in the up position.

I have used it for the deadlift @Geoff Chafe . The adjustment I did to keep myself from doing something real dumb and to cut the volume was to run it as an every other day program. Instead of day four being after day three I skipped a day. This made it a 4 week as oppose to a 3 week program. I felt fine as I progressed. I would do what Wendler does and start with ten percent less than what you plan to start with as the volume does come up quick.