all posts post new thread

Old Forum "Big Man's" Syndrome

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

fdmroz

Level 2 Valued Member
Well, that what I call it at least.  I am 6 3 and 275.  I have been training with weights for over 20 years.  Yes, I am considered overweight but I am not fat.I am strong, and have alot of muscle.   Over the last couple years, I have picked up Kettlebell training and body weright routines.  I REALLY love doing ETK and really want to complete it. My issue is I still have that syndrome where i like being "Jacked" but I know at my age, that it really isnt helathy to be at this weight and to be honest I just hate going to the gym. When i start getting into other training, my ind tricks me that my stature should be "jacked" and I end up going back to weight training.  Has anyone else had this problem and how did you deal with training your mind to get lean and strong?

frank imo you just have to trust in yourself and do what you want to do.  if you really love to be huge just stay huge.  if top quality health is what you think about a lot and you have fun doing kettlebells, and that is what you want to do, just do kettlebells and accept the consequences!

i dunno, not sure if that is helpful? but i don't think your training will get very far if you are not true to yourself.  disclaimer, i am small and have no experience with big man issues.  :)

Thank you for your reply.  It does help.  At my age , 39, I should be thinking health more than aesthetics at this point.   I guess it would help to hear from some that completed the ROP, and what their over results were.  I do love ETK, but I have read that it doesn't really hit the legs ( from another forum) I always believed that your legs are your foundation and should never be left out.  I know it does work the legs with the swing and the C and Ps but just again my mind messin with me.