all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Books/online course

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

conor78

Level 6 Valued Member
Hi
I have a degree in phys Ed but its been years since I have studied human anatomy/physiology and biomechanics.
I'm taking SFG 1 in Oct and would like to look at FMS in 2018. Has anyone any books/resources that they would recommend in relation to human anatomy/physiology that would help in terms of being an SFG instructor/FMS practictioner?
Thanks

I heard the recommendation on a some Leo Training Podcasts recently (if memory serves, it was both Mark Reifkind and Dr. Kenneith Jay) recommended, as a book everyone should read, "any University-level physiology textbook". I was able to get a huge and fairly modern used textbook for $20 through Amazon with a basic search. It's great reference material and enables a nice sanity check on the crazy ideas that so often float around in the fitness world.

Last edited:
Mmm... While neither anatomy nor physiology, Movement is the go-to book for FMS, and in my opinion every movement professional should read it. Becoming a Supple Leopard is another book I recommend.

In my instructor course (the government supervised gym instructor course in Israel) we had our own course booklet, but as @Anna C said, any academic introduction level book would do. IMHO for basic anatomy and physiology Wikipedia would also deliver if you know what to look for, specially since you just need some refreshing to do.

From my experience the stuff we need regarding these as quality strength teachers are the basics. The "real" needs in physiology, neuro-physiology, cognition and whatever scientific terms we want, are covered in Movement for FMS. While never attending (yet) SFG, I am 100% sure that all the relevant needs are addressed in the certification.

Trust SFG and FMS staff that they will provide you with the tools and knowledge.

I'll start a rant now...