all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Brand new here

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BillCore

First Post
I am brand new to kettlebell training. I just ordered the simple and sinister book. I have a 30 lb kettlebell. I assume I will need more than the one 30 pounder, and want to have it ready to go so I can start as soon as I get the book. What else will I need to get started on a good path?

@BillCore, welcome to the StrongFirst forum. You have what you need to get started - just start following the program as outlined in the book, and when you feel ready for something heavier, come back here and ask for a recommendation for the next size to get.

The only other possible thing you'll need is some sort of mat or other thing to give you a suitable surface on which to train. I can't think of anything else, really.

Well, one other thing - some in-person instruction.

-S-

@BillCore : Welcome to the forum :)
As @Steve Freides mentioned, try to get in touch with an SFG instructor. Learning from a book is a great start, but the swing and get up, the two exercises from S&S, are so rich in detail, that in-person training is recommended.
Good luck on your journey, and enjoy :)

Thank you both. So, I only need the 30 lb bell to start? I thought I would need more than one weight to begin. I know I will eventually grow into heavier weight, but want to be prepared for the beginning of the program.

I have a mat ready to go.

And I looked for an SFG instructor, but there is only 1 within 100 miles of me, and he is about 1.5 hours away. I may set something up some weekend, but will likely get started with the book and my own due diligence (albeit slowly).

@BillCore welcome. S&S is a brilliant program, it has done a lot for me. I find the book really comes to life when you get some training under your belt so enjoy the process.

Andy

Welcome Bill,