all posts post new thread

Barbell Bruising from Zercher Squats

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JeffC

Level 7 Valued Member
I have recently added Zercher Squats to my program. I have removed high bar back squats for a while because I have been feeling beat up lately. I kept front squats in and do them with military press, because the front rack is warmed up.

I am new to the Zercher rack position and am getting bruising in the crook of the arm. Is there a way to prevent this? Also, what do you do with the hands? I clasp one hand with the other and switch hands each set.

Bruising can happen. We have a set of axle (fat) bars at our gym that we use for Zerchers. This helps a great deal. Other than that, I would suggest tensing your forearm as much as possible in order to alleviate the pressure.

The hands should be clenched hard. Clasping is fine as long as your palms face up and not towards each other.

Bruising can happen. We have a set of axle (fat) bars at our gym that we use for Zerchers. This helps a great deal. Other than that, I would suggest tensing your forearm as much as possible in order to alleviate the pressure.

The hands should be clenched hard. Clasping is fine as long as your palms face up and not towards each other.

Thank you for the advice.

I guess the forearm will toughen up and adapt over time. I have fat grips that go over the bar. I will try those on a few sets and see how that goes.

Liking the Zercher squat so far I can see it as an arm, upper back, and torso builder. Also takes a lot of lower back out of squatting because it allows for a more vertical torso.