all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Building a base

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

John climber PT

Level 2 Valued Member
Hi everyone, been following and enjoying strongfirsts work for a while, im also a level 3 qualified trainer from the UK.

Just after some opinions here based on my official course training.

In the course it says basically that someone who hasn't trained for a while or consistently ect ect should start with atleast a year of endurance numbers on lifts before attempting pure strength routines.

I tend to promote this to clients as standard.

People, purely your thoughts on this, is it really necessary to build a base of strength this way. Personally i do feel it has it's merits.

Hi @John climber PT

It's hard to say without defining what you mean by "hasn't trained for a while or consistently", "endurance numbers on lifts" or "pure strength routines." We could easily be talking about different things based on our interpretation.

However I don't see any reason that someone in any state couldn't begin strength training, provided they use an appropriate load and program, and are taught how to do the loaded movements (and given appropriate regressions if they are unable to due to mobility or some other restriction).

@John climber PT, welcome to the StrongFirst forum.

In the course it says basically that someone who hasn't trained for a while or consistently ect ect should start with atleast a year of endurance numbers on lifts before attempting pure strength routines.
There is, if you'll forgive me, a world-view in here that we don't subscribe to at StrongFirst. Specifically, we teach high tension techniques that often result not only in instant increases in strength but also make the lifting safer by spreading the load across more of the body.