all posts post new thread

Barbell Buying a new Barbell

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

marvelsferb7

First Post
I see a lot of barbell talk on here, and was hoping to get a little advise.

I have been lifting at home for 8+ years now, but have really started getting serious about getting strong about a year ago. I have made awesome progress and have been adding new equipment as needed, almost 100% used. My next purchase (barbell) however I want to be new and of good quality.

I am currently using a cap barbell (the kind Academy Sports sells) and have gotten to weight where it’s hard to keep a grip on dead’s even with chalk because of the light and worn knurling.

I also took it apart recently and was appalled by what was in the collar/sleeve (neither side matches as far as build, missing parts, different parts).

So my question: is rouge the best option or most popular? And from what I can tell, the bone yard appears to be the same bars, but with visual defects in the finish? What other bar manufactures are out there?

Thanks all!

Eleiko or Leoko would be my #1 choice. Great, stiff, IPF spec bars with aggressive knurling.

Note that different federations use different bars. Like the roid feds typically use a deadlift bar, which is thinner, longer and with more give, while the tested and largest fed uses a stiff bar, like the Eleiko and Leoko.

Personally, I don't really see the point in the deadlift bars. Goes along with multiply suits and the like in my book.

I think Rogue offer the best variety overall and they seem to be nicely priced, depending on what model you're after. If you're after a bar for general strength training (i.e. not Crossfit or Olympic lifting), a standard bushing bar with a 28.5mm or 29mm thickness would do the job and Rogue offer those in pretty much any colour/finish you could want.