all posts post new thread

Conor’s Training Log - Fighting Entropic Decay

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Conor

Level 6 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
***edited with additional context***

Hi all,

Finally starting a training log here, to augment my super high-tech notebook and calendar that I typically use.

A bit of background and context on the training. I’m 40 years old, been active for most of my adult life but it’s getting harder as I get older. I work from home for a tech company and used to travel a to, curious to see what that looks like as things slowly get to a new normal. I am a father of seven kids (all the same wife and we’re shockingly still married). So sleep and time are two very precious commodities.

I’ve been swinging kettlebells for about the last 5 years, initially as a replacement for boxing since I’d moved away from my old gym. It’s definitely taken on a life of its own as I’ve become quite the Strongfirst devotee. Still primarily for GPP purposes as I fight the inevitable decay of middle age.

Since I work from home I’ve invested over the years and have a fairly well equipped home gym since we live in the sticks. My training comes and goes based on life, and the last major upheaval was the arrival of twins 18 months ago. I’ve been training again in earnest for about the last 7-8 months, primarily working back to a timed simple and to timeless sinister, while focusing on OHP via the Victorious programming. Outside my programming I do some barbell, some hitting the heavy bag, and a lot of cutting down trees and splitting firewood on my property.

Not much in the way of specific goals, just getting stronger. I would love to hit timed simple and after that do ROP. I’m already pretty close to 1/2 body weight on the press, but snatches for time will be a journey. That may culminate in attending the SFG I certification next April.

Last edited:
Today’s training:

Victorious I
Week 3C