all posts post new thread

Barbell Deadlift form check (back pain)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

morefireblaze

Level 2 Valued Member
Hi all. This is my first post in the forums after reading them for about 6 months. I find it amusing that my first post is in the Barbell section, as I joined to learn more about kettlebells, and my goal is to one day be able to post in the "I achieved timed Simple" thread. I recently started learning the big barbell lifts in addition to practising swings and TGUs, and I've been enjoying all of it greatly.

However, I stepped up to 100kgs on the deadlift last night, and while it didn't feel too bad at the time, my lower back was quite sore afterwards, and still hurts today. Video is attached for form critique.

For background, I'm 42 years old, 6ft 2in tall, and weigh 90kg. I had some neck issues last year that I worked through with a physiotherapist, who has given me the green light for both kettlebell and barbell training, and I've done a couple private classes with an SFG here in my city. Poor posture is my biggest problem, which I've been working hard on fixing. Thanks for reading.

Looks good, @morefireblaze. Congrats on starting to train with barbells and kettlebells!

I like your set up, your timing and temp of the lifts and set, your bar path, your gaze. The basic lift is good.

The main thing I see is you need to get tighter in the lats and the back. Now, whether that's a matter of focus and cuing, or whether you just have to build that strength, is something for you to experiment with as you try it with a weigh that you can feel you can do this with, and then work your way back up to this weight and see if you still can.