all posts post new thread

Barbell Deadlift training percentages

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JGP718

Level 4 Valued Member
hello all,

I am 29, 6’ and about 190lbs. I am relatively new to training the deadlift in a consistent manner. I tested my max deadlift today and pulled 285lbs and couldn’t lift my next attempt of 295lbs more than an inch off of the ground.

I have been training with kettlebells for some years and am quite happy with my strength for not really training the barbell deadlift. My question is I am torn between doing a PTTP plan for deadlifts and presses and doing the DDD along with S&S swings and TGUs. The DDD is very clearly laid out with the plan for my percentages and what to do. I looked quickly again through PTTP and only saw the numbers based off of 5RM??? How would I calculate that off of my 1RM?

Any recommendations or advice is appreciated! I’d love to get to a double body weight deadlift!

PTTP gives several training plan options. If you go that route, just start conservatively and figure out a cycling scheme for yourself.

If the DDD seems clearer to you, just do that. Or do one followed by the other.

-S-

Well you can test out your 5RM the same way you test your 1RM. Start doing sets of five until you can only do a set of four. The last complete set of five was your 5RM. A thing to note, especially with multiple rep maxes, is that one should have good technique on all five of the reps. Four good reps and one ugly rep doesn't count for a 5RM in this practice. Competition 1RMs are a different case, but even then you have rules to follow.

But with a long term plan like the PTTP you can take an estimated 5RM, something like 250-260lbs for example in your case, and go by it.

Both DDD and PTTP have worked well with people. You can't really go wrong with either one.