all posts post new thread

DFW + SFG II Prep

Kyle Bois

Level 2 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Hey everyone, this is my first training log.

Currently:
I'm training for SFG II on November 4-5, 2023 (Guangzhou, China).
Hopefully I'll be under 203lbs at the time, which means ill be pressing the 44kg.
I'm 88.5kg as of today. At the bottom of this post are pics of me a couple days ago (~87.2kg)

I've got no idea what my 1A Press max is right now - single arm presses bug my right shoulder, so I haven't trained them since Oct. 2022 (SFG 1 prep).

I try to train twice a day most days.

About:
Been reading Pavel's stuff since I was 15 (I'm 35 now) and applied it on and off during that time. His books were the reason I studied exercise science in college.

I was in a serious car accident when I was 19 that left me with a broken neck, crushed right ankle & complete rupture of my left knee (everything but the patella); I was in a wheelchair for 10 months - this has drastically affected my training/life over the years.
After the accident I was told I would walk but likely never run again.
While in the wheelchair I dropped 50lbs (185 to 135, mostly muscle) and developed a serious case of lower-crossed syndrome (which I am still highly prone to to this day.

I was able to restore my body very well using kettlebells, but later dabbled in bodybuilding, lost the movement capability I had built & found it ridiculously hard to gain back.
After years of trial and error I stumbled across Tim Anderson's methods while working on my PhD (Sport Biomechanics - which I didn't complete). This literally changed my life and led to me leaving my doctoral program.

Now-a-days I've pretty much made it back full-circle, training almost exclusively with kettlebells & Original Strength methods (it's what works for me). I dabble in other stuff but this is my bread and butter.

Let me know if you've got any questions!

Last edited: