all posts post new thread

Old Forum DL training with clean grip

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Rob Lawrence

Level 3 Valued Member
I love using the clean grip. When I trained with it in 2004, I almost made it to four wheels before I had to finally start using the reverse grip. I felt very strong and the workouts felt biomechanically correct.

I've just started training the DL again and once again, I enjoy the pure, parallel feeling of the clean grip. My preference is to stay with it until I can't hold on, then reverse in one direction (I prefer left palm forward and right in normal position).

Question though: might training this way affect my technique for a maximum pull? In other words, should I practice reverse grip even with sub-max weights so I'm fully grooved that way when trying to max? Let me know your thoughts and experience.

If I was actually DLing for a living I'd start using the hook grip and go through that adjustment. Squashed thumbs aren't on my agenda though.

Rob

Rob, the hook grip is worth it. Use it only on singles and doubles and strap in for higher reps.

Rob, I've been known to pull my openers in meets using a clean grip - why not?  If it works for you and it feels good, I say you go with it.  I like it better for the reasons you give - it makes your grip stronger and there's no worry about "helicoptering" the bar.

About which hand goes which way, my understanding is that most people do best with their non-dominant (read: weaker) hand in the underhand position - if you're a rightie, then that fits with what you describe.  NB: Most, but not all, people seem to work this way.