all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Electricity-like pain on thigh while doing swings

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Smile-n-Nod

Level 5 Valued Member
I started learning KB swings a couple weeks ago. When I became comfortable with the swing, I started feeling a sensation like a mild electric shock over an area about 2" wide on the outside of my left thing just after the forward-swing starts.

I have learned to reduce the sensation by adjusting my stance and being careful to ensure my knees track my toes, and the sensation is almost nonexistent when I experiment with one-hand swings.

Could this be the result of a pinched nerve in my back? Should I be concerned? Thanks.

Could this be the result of a pinched nerve in my back? Should I be concerned? Thanks.

It can't be ruled out online, despite what some may say.

A competent clinician will be able to answer that question through a physical exam. Best to get it cleared. You should go see a doctor.

Welcome to the forum!

+1 for a competent clinician. It's reassuring that when keep your form the sensation goes away, but it shouldn't be there. Pain / weird sensations are our body's warning lights, don't ignore them.

It also might be connected to your immobile feet from the other thread, the body is one peace.

Hello,

I started feeling a sensation like a mild electric shock over an area about 2"
Sounds like a pinched nerve, but not sure at all. If I were you, I would go to see a doctor to clear it up.

Kind regards,

Pet'

@Smile-n-Nod
Welcome...
Yes to what the others are saying about getting a competent medical professional to check it out.
Also when you mentioned that you were learning the swing a few weeks ago. Were you learning under the guidance of an instructor?

Again, welcome

Hello,

@Smile-n-Nod
+1 @offwidth question