all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Experience training with kettlebells post chest tear

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Marin Koshutov

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi all

I have been reading the forum for quite some time, but haven't posted yet. I have long experience with barbell training but this April I had a full pectoral tendon rupture doing bench press. I had been training mostly with kettlebells for 2-3 years before, but lifter weights heavy and low reps in conjunction with that.
Has anyone had such experience and if yes how did you progress in movements, volume and intensity. I rehabilitated using mostly bands so far and on purpose didn't do any weights for 3 months. At the current time I have almost no limitation in movement and the tendon should be sufficiently healed to start using load. My thinking is to start using slower movements - press, goblet squat, farmer walks, but I also can do anything with my right arm - one hand swings, snatches etc. I am wondering if this would do more harm then good though.
My stats - 35 years old, 220 pds/95kgs bw, before the injury I was working with double 24s for presses, jerks, fr squats, have pressed 32. Currently have to start at much lower weight I am not even sure 16s would be reasonable.
Any feedback would be highly appreciated

Best regards

Marin

Hello Marin, maybe I can help a bit here by sharing my experience with the same problem. At the risk of looking a bit of a buffoon I will submit the following evidence from circa 1985.. If you look at the right pec you'll see the divot where the muscle used to be. This picture was taken around 8 months after the injury..

OldBBpic1.jpg