all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Feasibility of the simple standard for light weight men

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Notirishbjj

First Post
So I did about 4-6 months of S&S, only to drop it about this time last year. Since then I've played with some more barbell based programs like easy strength.
Last time I encountered a major road block, that being my physical size. For context I'm a 5'7 BJJ featherweight, my usual weight is generally between 66-68kg. I'm comfortable in my weight class and don't feel like moving up (just so no one comes with a Rippetoe approach of "just eat more").
Managed to get up to doing the getups with the 32kg bell for timeless simple, but my major issue became the swing. I could comfortably swing the 32kg bell with two hands but had major issues with the one arm variation.
For one, directing the larger Bell between my legs with one arm was challenging and then I always felt like I wasn't getting the full ROM out of the swing, it only coming up to chin level when doing the one handed variation.
Before I make my return to S&S I need to know is it just an issue of my stature or should I have been doing something different

If you need inspiration, just check out @Pavel Macek ’s training log. He recently achieved Sinister at a body weight around 68kg iirc. Simple is absolutely achievable, and beyond.

Also - based on your comments around range of motion…it’s likely worth posting a video for some feedback on your technique, and even better finding a local SF KB course to attend or SFG to work with.

65-67 kg here and have achieved Simple. Nothing but respect for guys and gals who go above and beyond, it's not for me and I have not kept up the standard myself but it's achievable. It just takes more work.