all posts post new thread

Barbell Finding a 5 RM for a new lift

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

BJJ Shawn

Level 6 Valued Member
Hello all,

I will be transitioning from S&S which I have been doing for about 6 months, to doing the 10,000 swing challenge which includes 4 additional lifts, then finally to the russian bear from PTTP, which means picking up the barbell again for the first time in 26 months. Since what I did in deadlifts that long ago (and only 1 set a week at that) really has no bearing on where I'm at today, and the other 3 lifts I use I have never consistently lifted, where would you start to find your 5 rm?

Conventional reasoning says to start low, and increase each session until it feels like a tough but doable 5 reps with 1-2 in the tank, then work from there. However, in the 10,000 swing challenge, you will only do 4-5 sessions with each lift before the challenge ends, and Dan John says to use your 5RM in the lifts. I have a couple weeks before I will start this, so I have some time to figure it out, but without killing myself trying to do tons of extra lifts while doing S&S, what is a sound way to figure out a good 5rm?

Load the barbell lightly. Try to do five good reps. If successful, load some more and rest. Repeat the process until you fail. The weight you got five good reps with is your 5RM.

Absolutely no reason to make it more complicated than it is.

Load the barbell lightly. Try to do five good reps. If successful, load some more and rest. Repeat the process until you fail. The weight you got five good reps with is your 5RM.

Absolutely no reason to make it more complicated than it is.
Thanks, my only concern with that is that I'm either already fatigued from the other sets, or I have to do it over multiple days causing havoc with my normal training. Since I have to find a 5rm with 4 lifts, is this too much extra work to add on to S&S?