all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Form Check OAOLPU's

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

DaveS

Level 3 Valued Member
Hi all,

Following a form check on OAPU's recently with some great feedback from Anna C and Mark Limbaga we had identified some form problems and specifically needing to tuck the hips under more and engage the glutes and abs as to prevent my hips piking particularly as I reached the bottom of the OAPU. Also, to not try to lower quite so far down (I was literally touching my chest to the floor) so I could maintain more tension in my shoulder girdle to increase the strength development from it.

I also received advice to start narrowing my stance to make them more difficult as I was already comfortably doing 5 x 5 of them. As I started playing around with this I noticed part of my problem with keeping the hips tucked seems to come from having my legs too wide as it causes a conflict in the hip flexors to be flexed/tucked whilst the legs are spread that far.