all posts post new thread

Old Forum front squat and back squat strength

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

flightposite

Level 6 Valued Member
hey guys I've frequented this board for a long time and I'm a big fan of pavel and his work. But this is my first time posting. I've recently been a little upset with myself because I have hit a major squatting rut.

I was in the mid 400lbs till I fell ill and lost a lot of muscle and strength.

I'm now in a sense starting from scratch it seems like. My max squat is roughly 355lbs. And its been frustrating struggling with weights I used to dominate. The reason I chose today to be my first post is that I was hoping to get some guidance and suggestions from pavel or perhaps some of the stronger veterans of this board who know a thing or two about squatting. I compete in weightlifting so both the front and back squat are very important to my sport.

I'm open and would appreciate any advice or suggestion anyone has to offer.

thank you.

Jordan, you mention an illness - perhaps this is as simple as trying to do too much, too soon after your return to training?

I don't think anyone here can know what might be the issue - it's best addressed in person by competent professionals.
 I would see the right doctor first to make sure your health is completely in order, then go for a Functional Movement Screen to see where you're at.   And I might take a few days or even longer off from training to be sure you're as rested as you need to be in order to make progress with your lifting.
-S-

thanks Steve for your reply.

and you may be right about the illness.

it really knocked me on my backside pretty good. But its been a little over two months and I feel completely healthy again. As for movement screening. I've been squatting for a long time due to my sport and feel like I'm pretty proficient at the squat movement.