all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed General Conditioning

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JoeF2000

Level 1 Valued Member
I was reading an article by Pavel T. that said, for general conditioning, one only needs to do 100-200 heavy swings 2-3x a week. My question is, how can someone be generally conditioned with just BW exercises.

*Keep in mind I’m a beginner whose conditioning is lacking to say the least.*

Perhaps the nearest bodyweight equivalent exercise to swings is squat jumps. Perhaps try a similar protocol: 10 x 10 approximately on the minute, 3-5 times a week.

Don’t neglect the aerobic tank that replenishes the fuel for such efforts. That is best done with easy endurance (below 180 minus age heart rate) for at least 30 minutes per session.

I’ll do those squat jumps and running 3x a week. How long should I train aerobic running before moving to sprint work?

Hello,

Easy running 2 or 3 times a week during 45 minutes and why not 1 or 2 HIT sessions (Tabata, hill / stair sprints)

Kind regards,

Pet'

If you want to follow Maffetone’s protocol, which is a good idea, three months strict aerobic work with increasing gradually increasing volume using the 180 formula is a good place to start.

I was reading an article by Pavel T. that said, for general conditioning, one only needs to do 100-200 heavy swings 2-3x a week. My question is, how can someone be generally conditioned with just BW exercises.

*Keep in mind I’m a beginner whose conditioning is lacking to say the least.*
Joe...
Whenever the term general conditioning comes up it requires some context. It can mean many things to many people.