all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Get Up... or scale back ?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Lehrskov

Level 5 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Hi Everyone - I have a TGU phenomenon that I could really use some advice on.

I'm following S&S and having a blast. I'm @32kg on the Getup, which has been quite easy for a while. I can do the 10 reps in 7mins on any given day. I can also do them slowly (which I like), and I'm pretty confident that I have at least decent technique (having been under the caring eye of several SF instructors).

Now: recently the reps started to feel a little 'unsure' or 'sloppy'. Not hard, just... off somehow. Sometimes it felt as if I had to spend more strength doing the reps than just a few weeks back. I was weird.

I considered scaling back to the @24kg, but something in me wanted to test something else: so yesterday I did the 3rd and 4th reps with the @40kg, which I've never done before. And it was easy. Strong. Focused. Crisp. Felt heavy, but not hard. The 1st, 2nd, 5th, 6th etc. reps with the @32kg were still 'weird'.

So what's going on and what should I do ?

That's really interesting. I have experienced similar. I really don't know, but my guess would be mental focus. Sometimes when the weight gets too easy the mind drifts or checks out of the practice. Pushing forward to that edge of ability really calls "all hands on deck" and your mind has to become laser focused on the task again.

Not sure what to advise to do from here, but maybe if it is mental focus, you can put an effort on bringing that back to your 32kg get-ups.

Last edited: