all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Getting back into it after a long break . 40kg Standards?

Washed up Meathead.

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi everyone, I've just joined although I've been a lurker for a long time. I'm 36 years old, 5ft 8.5in and 172lbs with a respectable strength level.

I've trained with kettlebells on and off for 20 years now. I last trained with them exclusively in 2020 in the COVID lockdowns. But haven't touched them until a few weeks ago when I got back into them. I just started with bottoms up clean and presses which have always been my favourite kbell lift.

I've just bought a 40KG bell yesterday and had my first try of it this morning with Single arm swings and cleans. I've never tried anything over a 32kg before. My question is, what do you believe is a good standard of strength for the 40kg bell for things like single arm swings, cleans and other basic lifts?

Timeless “Strong”: 100 one am swings + 10 TGUs with the 40 (or on the road from simple to sinister).

A 1 arm press with the 40 would be just over 1/2 bodyweight.

Two pretty solid SF boxes I’m trying to check with the 40kg @ 42 y/o and 185#. I’m still working on the second one.

Have a look at our SFG instructor certification and its standards. Those will give you a good idea of what "not weak" is. Then have a look at our SFG Level II instructor certifications and that will give you a good idea of what "pretty strong" is.

-S-
Thank you, I shall check those out.

Timeless “Strong”: 100 one am swings + 10 TGUs with the 40 (or on the road from simple to sinister).

A 1 arm press with the 40 would be just over 1/2 bodyweight.

Two pretty solid SF boxes I’m trying to check with the 40kg @ 42 y/o and 185#. I’m still working on the second one.
That's great thanks.

Today I just started (after a warm up) with 2 sets of 15 reps per side of single arm swings with the 40kg just to keep the soreness to minimum. I think I could do the 10 sets of 10