all posts post new thread

Getting Back Into Wrestling Shape

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

awito

Level 2 Valued Member
I'm a former high school wrestler. Now, I'm closing in on 30, I'm a new dad, and I'm pretty out of shape. I signed up for Brazilian jiu-jitsu a few months ago, and hope to get into better shape for that.

I'm pretty new to this stuff, so if anyone has any critiques or suggestions for my program, I'd greatly appreciate it.

EDIT: my training has changed quite significantly since starting this thread, since I have acquired a barbell and a squat rack.

Last edited:
My Training today - 2021, March 4, Thursday

Chin-ups: 4 sets of 3

24kg Swings: 3 sets of 8

24kg rows: 4 + 3 + 4 (same on both arms)

Hanging Leg Raises: 2 + 3 + 3

Jean Hangs (seconds): 3 sets of 5

24kg Single-Arm Deadlifts: 3 sets of 8

A couple hours after this, I ate my last meal, which was gyros-style chicken with sauce. I finished eating around 3pm. At 7pm, I went to jiu-jitsu training for an hour.

I had a bad day yesterday.

Too little sleep, because the baby was fussy.

I just did a few GTG sets of push-ups and single-leg squats.

My hamstrings were really, really sore.

I ate throughout the day, too, including a muffin that a student of mine baked for me (probably knocking me out of ketosis - oh well).

Today (Saturday, March 6th) is going better. I woke up early, ran to an outdoor gym. 100% legal, open, and free in this time of coronavirus lockdowns.

I did a few sets of dips and push-ups. I can only do 3-4 solid dips at a time. I hope to increase this in the future.

I also hung from the bar, which was challenging due to the wool gloves I wore. Then I walk-run-walked for another hour - a leisurely pace, but I'm glad I got my blood flowing.

Hopefully, I'll be able to get in a second kettlebell training before the end of the day.

Attached are some pics of the open-air gym.

Attachments

• IMG_20210306_074712990.jpg